Alexandre Delano

After releasing five albums with his band The Delano Orchestra (as the leader/singer), and then the group's collaboration with Jean-Louis Murat, BABEL, Alexandre Delano is releasing his first solo record, Eau—the lyrics in french this time. 

Alexandre Delano (a.k.a. Alexandre Rochon) is a french composer, musician, and video artist. Soon after completing a law degree, in 2006 Rochon created the record label Kütu Folk Records (renamed Kütu Records in 2015), and became its artistic director. Kütu works to align musical ambition with keen aesthetic. Each of the label's artists designed the artwork for their albums themselves and every Kütu record is released in a hand-sewn cardboard sleeve. Thus, in this time of dematerialization of music, the label emphasizes the importance of the material. Listening to The Delano Orchestra's previous five albums (released between 2006 and 2013), the group's signature sound reverberates addictively—a refined folk/rock resonance and melodic character frequently compared to brilliant artists such as Elliott Smith, Sparklehorse, Sigur Ros, and Flotation Toy Warning (to name a few). The Delano Orchestra has performed several shows in prestigious venues, such as Le Bataclan, Le Théâtre de la Ville de Paris, and L'Olympia. In January 2012, Le Monde, the most circulated French newspaper, featured Rochon as part of "50 culture makers in France" and devoted a large editorial to him. Concurrently with his musical projects, Rochon works to cultivate his creativity and strong interest in photography, storytelling and video art with some large-scale projects (for example, Le Cahier Bleu, a book he co-wrote, co-photographed and published with Emilie Fernandez). He has produced near twenty music videos, many of them receiving praise in film festivals. 

A new chapter for Rochon and all things Delano starts today, with the release of Eau, a well-named first solo album in the French language. It's a diary of an aquatic and love life, Mediterranean trips, bike rides, nursery rhymes and child's play; brazen joy and freedom reverberates on each of Eau's tracks. Also a romantic & shiny pop album, Eau is gently arranged by The Delano Orchestra's musicians and stimulated by a light and fresh female harmony. The core elements of the Delano's identity remain intact—trumpet and cello cavorting with and comforting guitar, bass, drums and raw, delicate vocals—but Eau takes a deeper dive, discovering new colors, more intimate and spontaneous, which gives the album an unprecedented freshness. 

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Paroles et musiques : Alexandre Rochon
Batterie : Christophe Pie
Trompette, claviers, trombone : Julien Quinet
Guitare, basse : Matthieu Lopez
Violoncelle : Guillaume Bongiraud
Chant, chœurs : Emilie Fernandez
Chant, guitare, piano, claviers, programmation : Alexandre Rochon
Pochette : Julien Mignot

Enregistré et mixé au studio Palissy par Pascal Mondaz et Didier Lamaze.
Masterisé au studio Basalte par Simon Capony.

Les paroles des chansons Orage et L’Île sont librement inspirées du livre Le Cahier bleu Instant(ané)s de baignades en Auvergne.

Jean-Philippe Toussaint est l’auteur du poème Trois heures et quart qu’il avait écrit à la naissance de sa fille Anna. La chanson reprend un extrait de ce poème.

RELEASE DATE: 22/06/2015

After releasing five albums with his band The Delano Orchestra (as the leader/singer), and then the group's collaboration with Jean-Louis Murat, BABEL, Alexandre Delano is releasing his first solo record, Eau—the lyrics in french this time.

1. Pénélope Alexandre Delano 3:56
2. La piscine Alexandre Delano 4:23
3. Orage Alexandre Delano 2:50
4. L'herbe Alexandre Delano 2:31
5. L'île Alexandre Delano 2:56
6. Nous appartenir Alexandre Delano 2:31
7. Plume Alexandre Delano 3:35
8. L'alphabet Alexandre Delano 1:57
9. Madeleine Alexandre Delano 7:22
10. Trois heures et quart Alexandre Delano 2:17
6 July 2016

Alexandre Delano // Pénélope

6 July 2016

Alexandre Delano - Orage (official video)

6 July 2016

Alexandre Delano // L'île

Alexandre Delano

Premier album solo d'Alexandre Delano, leader/chanteur du groupe clermontois
The Delano Orchestra


Après avoir publié cinq albums au sein du groupe The Delano Orchestra (chanteur/leader) et accompagné l’aventure Babel de Jean-Louis Murat*, Alexandre Delano se livre à l’écriture d’un premier album en français.

Alexandre Rochon est compositeur, musicien et vidéaste. Après des études de droit du patrimoine historique et culturel, il fonde en 2006 le label Kütu Folk Records (rebaptisé Kütu Records début 2015), dont il devient le directeur artistique. Dans une démarche de revendication de l’objet artistique, il y conçoit des disques aux pochettes cousues main, ce qui fera la renommée du label, en plus de sa brillante famille d’artistes. De 2006 à 2013, il publie cinq albums avec son groupe The Delano Orchestra, formation folk/rock clermontoise et raffinée, aux compositions d’une telle élégance qu’elles seront aisément rapprochées des maîtres du genre comme Elliott SmithSparklehorseSigur Rós, ou encore Flotation Toy Warning. The Delano Orchestra se produit sur de nombreuses et prestigieuses scènes comme le Bataclan, le Théâtre de la Ville de Paris, l’Olympia. En janvier 2012, un article du Monde place Alexandre Rochon parmi les « 50 faiseurs de culture en France » et lui dédie un portrait. Parallèlement à son activité musicale, il développe un goût prononcé pour la vidéo et réalise des projets d’envergure. Il tourne et monte une vingtaine de clips, remarqués en sélections de festivals de films (festival international du Court Métrage de Clermont-Ferrand, FIFF de Namur – lors de trois éditions consécutives –, festival du Film Court de Villeurbanne). 

Le nouveau chapitre de ce parcours admirable s’ouvre aujourd’hui avec Eau, un bien nommé premier album en solo et en français. Journal de bord d’une vie aquatique et amoureuse, virées méditerranéennes, balades à vélo, voyages en train, comptines et jeux d’enfant : le vent d’une insolente liberté souffle sur les chansons d’Alexandre Delano. Un disque de pop romantique et ensoleillée, souvent chanté à deux voix, le tout délicatement arrangé par les musiciens du Delano Orchestra. On retrouve avec plaisir quelques éléments de la palette Delano (notamment les parties de cuivres et de cordes, toujours captivantes), mais en y découvrant de nouvelles couleurs, plus intimes et spontanées, qui confèrent à ces chansons une fraîcheur inédite.  

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

* En 2014, Alexandre Delano et ses musiciens participent à l’enregistrement ainsi qu’à la tournée de Babel, dernier album de Jean-Louis Murat, encensé par la critique. 

SORTIE: 22/06/2015

Premier album solo de Alexandre Delano, leader/chanteur de The Delano Orchestra.

Journal de bord d’une vie aquatique et amoureuse, virées méditerranéennes, balades à vélo, voyages en train, comptines et jeux d’enfant… Le vent d’une insolente liberté souffle sur les chansons d’Alexandre Delano. Le tout délicatement arrangé par les musiciens du Delano Orchestra, au complet sur scène.

1. Pénélope Alexandre Delano 3:56
2. La piscine Alexandre Delano 4:23
3. Orage Alexandre Delano 2:50
4. L'herbe Alexandre Delano 2:31
5. L'île Alexandre Delano 2:56
6. Nous appartenir Alexandre Delano 2:31
7. Plume Alexandre Delano 3:35
8. L'alphabet Alexandre Delano 1:57
9. Madeleine Alexandre Delano 7:22
10. Trois heures et quart Alexandre Delano 2:17
6 juillet 2016

Alexandre Delano // Pénélope

6 juillet 2016

Alexandre Delano - Orage (official video)

6 juillet 2016

Alexandre Delano // L'île